Category: Political Science.

Sort

showing 1-20 of 61

Image for Religion in American public life

Religion in American public life

By: Al-Hibri, Azizah

Price: $7.00

Publisher: New York : W.W. Norton, c2001.:

Seller ID: BB0243615


Raise any number of public issues health care, education, welfare and religious beliefs inevitably shape Americans' viewpoints. On certain topics the introduction of religion can be explosive. This book discusses how we can and why we should hear religious voices in the public square. An American Assembly Book. View more info

Image for Being George Washington

Being George Washington

By: Beck, Glenn

Price: $8.00

Publisher: Threshold Editions:

Seller ID: BB0211927


IF YOU THINK YOU KNOW GEORGE WASHINGTON, THINK AGAIN. This is the amazing true story of a real-life superhero who wore no cape and possessed no special powers--yet changed the world forever. It's a story about a man whose life reads as if it were torn from the pages of an action novel: Bullet holes through his clothing. Horses shot out from under him. Unimaginable hardship. Disease. Heroism. Spies and double-agents. And, of course, the unmistakable hand of Divine Pro... View more info

It IS About Islam: Exposing the Truth About ISIS, Al Qaeda, Iran, and the Caliphate

By: Beck, Glenn

Price: $7.50

Publisher: Simon and Schuster, 2015:

Seller ID: BB0224075


View more info

Miracles and Massacres: True and Untold Stories of the Making of America

By: Beck, Glenn

Price: $8.00

Publisher: Threshold Editions, 2014:

Seller ID: BB0248566


A bright clean copy. Looks new. View more info

The broken hearth

By: Bennett, William F.

Price: $8.00

Publisher: New York : Doubleday, c2001.:

Seller ID: BB0224844


Today the American family is under siege as never before. From the dramatic rise in illegitimacy, divorce, cohabitation, and single parenthood to the call for recognition of gay marriages, the traditional nuclear family is being radically challenged and undermined, along with the moral and legal consensus that once supported it. Many think it doesn't matter whether we preserve the nuclear family. Some even argue that its dissolution is a good thing― a liberatio... View more info

Image for Eco-Freaks

Eco-Freaks

By: Berlau, John

Price: $5.00

Publisher: Thomas Nelson:

Seller ID: BB0231643


Tree-huggers may actually be squeezing the life out of the environment. In a book that is alternately alarming, enlightening, ironic, and entertaining, award-winning journalist John Berlau explores the myriad ways in which shortsighted environmentalism actually endangers trees, wildlife, and people. In chapter after chapter, Berlau debunks myths and libels about: global warming and climate change the dangers of pesticides like DDT trees and pollution fuel economy a... View more info

Image for Blinded by the right

Blinded by the right

By: Brock, David

Price: $6.00

Publisher: New York : Three Rivers Press, c2002.:

Seller ID: BB0226448


In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler's The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it. David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in "The American Spectator" as part of the infamous "Arkansas Project" triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of Presiden... View more info

Image for Hollowing Out the Middle

Hollowing Out the Middle

By: Carr, Patrick

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Beacon Press:

Seller ID: BB0243788


In 2001, with funding from the MacArthur Foundation, sociologists Patrick J. Carr and Maria J. Kefalas moved to Iowa to understand the rural brain drain and the exodus of young people from America's countryside. They met and followed working-class "stayers"; ambitious and college-bound "achievers"; "seekers," who head off to war to see what the world beyond offers; and "returners," who eventually circle back to their hometowns. What surprised them most was that adults in... View more info

Image for Silencing Political Dissent: How Post-September 11 Anti-Terrorism Measures Threaten Our Civil Liberties

Silencing Political Dissent: How Post-September 11 Anti-Terrorism Measures Threaten Our Civil Liberties

By: Chang, Nancy ; Center for Constitutional Rights ; Howard Zinn

Price: $5.00

Publisher: Seven Stories Press, February 2002:

Seller ID: BB0248008


A nice clean copy. View more info

The right moment

By: Dallek, Matthew

Price: $7.00

Publisher: New York : Free Press, c2000.:

Seller ID: BB0240742


Ronald Reagan's first great victory, in the 1966 California governor's race, seemed to come from nowhere and has long since confounded his critics. Just two years earlier, when Barry Goldwater lost to Lyndon Johnson by a landslide, the conservative movement was pronounced dead. In California, Governor Edmund "Pat" Brown was celebrated as the "Giant Killer" for his 1962 victory over Richard Nixon. From civil rights, to building the modern California system of higher educ... View more info

Bait and switch

By: Ehrenreich, Barbara

Price: $8.00

Publisher: New York : Metropolitan Books, 2005.:

Seller ID: BB0246293


The bestselling author of Nickel and Dimed goes back undercover to do for America's ailing middle class what she did for the working poor Barbara Ehrenreich's Nickel and Dimed explored the lives of low-wage workers. Now, in Bait and Switch, she enters another hidden realm of the economy: the shadowy world of the white-collar unemployed. Armed with a plausible resume of a professional "in transition," she attempts to land a middle-class job--undergoing career coaching... View more info

What's the matter with Kansas?

By: Frank, Thomas S.

Price: $6.00

Publisher: New York : Metropolitan Books, 2004.:

Seller ID: BB0218052


One of "our most insightful social observers"* cracks the great political mystery of our time: how conservatism, once a marker of class privilege, became the creed of millions of ordinary Americans With his acclaimed wit and acuity, Thomas Frank turns his eye on what he calls the "thirty-year backlash"--the populist revolt against a supposedly liberal establishment. The high point of that backlash is the Republican Party's success in building the most unnatural of a... View more info

Image for That Used to Be Us

That Used to Be Us

By: Friedman, Thomas L.

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux:

Seller ID: BB0221012


America is in trouble. We face four major challenges on which our future depends, and we are failing to meet them--and if we delay any longer, soon it will be too late for us to pass along the American dream to future generations. In "That Used to Be Us," Thomas L. Friedman, one of our most influential columnists, and Michael Mandelbaum, one of our leading foreign policy thinkers, offer both a wake-up call and a call to collective action. They analyze the four challenges... View more info

Old Myths and New Realities and Other Commentaries

By: Fulbright, J. W.

Price: $2.50

Publisher: Vintage, 1964:

Seller ID: BB0220242


Light shelf-wear. View more info

Image for Liberal purposes

Liberal purposes

By: Galston, William A.

Price: $15.00

Publisher: Cambridge ; Cambridge University Press, 1991.:

Seller ID: BB0228388


A bright clean copy. Looks new. View more info

Media unlimited

By: Gitlin, Todd

Price: $6.50

Publisher: New York : H. Holt, 2003, c2002.:

Seller ID: BB0242989


Everyone knows that the media surround us, but no one quite understands what this means for our lives. In "Media Unlimited," a remarkable and original look at our media-glutted, speed-addicted world, Todd Gitlin makes us stare, as if for the first time, at the biggest picture of all. From video games to elevator music, action movies to reality shows, Gitlin evokes a world of relentless sensation, instant transition, and nonstop stimulus. He shows how all media, all the t... View more info

Image for The terror presidency

The terror presidency

By: Goldsmith, Jack

Price: $7.00

Publisher: New York : W.W. Norton, c2007.:

Seller ID: BB0224823


Jack Goldsmith's duty as head of the Office of Legal Counsel was to advise President Bush what he could and could not do...legally. Goldsmith took the job in October 2003 and began to review the work of his predecessors. Their opinions were the legal framework governing the conduct of the military and intelligence agencies in the war on terror, and he found many especially those regulating the treatment and interrogation of prisoners that were deeply flawed. Goldsmith is... View more info

Image for The assault on reason

The assault on reason

By: Gore, Al

Price: $6.00

Publisher: New York : Penguin Press, 2007.:

Seller ID: BB0238084


A #1 "New York Times" bestseller: A visionary analysis of the degradation of our public sphere and its consequences for our democracy Nobel Peace Prize winner, bestselling author, activist, and political icon, Al Gore has become one of the most respected and influential public intellectuals in America today. "The Assault on Reason" takes an unprecedented look at how faith in the power of reason?the idea that citizens can govern themselves through rational debate?is ... View more info

Federalist Papers

By: Hamilton, Alexander

Price: $2.50

Publisher: Bantam Books:

Seller ID: BB0233772


View more info

Image for Pennsylvania Avenue: Profiles in Backroom Power

Pennsylvania Avenue: Profiles in Backroom Power

By: Harwood, John ; Seib, Gerald F.

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group, 508:

Seller ID: BB0248161


Prizewinning journalists John Harwood and Gerald F. Seib show how today's Washington power game really works, through stories of people who are making a difference on Pennsylvania Avenue, America's power street. These new power brokers, some of whom are rarely seen and are largley unknown, have figured out how to make their voices heard, and how to get things done, amid the complexities of today's gridlocked Washington. With unprecedented access to Washington insiders, a... View more info